Serene Yoga Namaste

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga


Ashtanga vinyasa yoga is a style of yoga which was practiced and taught by K. Pattabhi Jois in India in the late 20th century.

The Primary Series is the first of the six series in the Ashtanga asanas practice.  This series consists of the following:

  • Sun salutation A and B  (in Sanskrit language Surya Namaska A and B respectively)

  • The Standing Sequence

  • The Seating Sequence

  • The Closing Sequence

The Primary Sesries focuses on five elements.  These are bandhas (internal energy centres), ujjayi breathing (ocean sound breathing), asanas (postures) sequencing, dristhti (gaze point), and vinyasa (the synchronisation of breath and movement)

Ashtanga - Beginners

These classes cover flowing sequence from the First Series of the Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga tradition.  Suitable for beginners.  These classes are led at a slow pace.  Please note, however, that this is a physically challenging practice which helps to build up strength and flexibility.

Ashtanga - Half Primary Series

These classes cover a larger selection of postures from the Primary Series and are led at a faster pace.  It continues to focus on breathing and alignment before moving on to more advanced poses.  Suitable to those with yoga experience and good level of fitness.

Hatha Yoga

A classical style of yoga which provides an opportunity to work on posture alignment, breathing and relaxation techniques whilst building strength and flexibility.  These are slow-paced classes suitable for beginners or practitioners who prefer a more relaxed yoga style.